February 15, 2022 

Becky Hammon and DeLisha Milton-Jones headline 2022 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Class

The eight inductees will be entered into the Hall of Fame ceremony on June 11 in Knoxville, TN

Becky Hammon, DeLisha Milton-Jones and Penny Taylor, Doug Bruno, Paul Sanderford, Bob Schneider, Debbie Antonelli and Alice “Cookie” Barron were announced as the newest members of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday.

Continue reading with a subscription to The Next

Get unlimited access to women’s basketball coverage and help support our hardworking staff of writers, editors, and photographers by subscribing today.

Join today

Hammon, the new head coach of the WNBA’s Las Vegas Aces, played 16 WNBA seasons with the New York Liberty and the San Antonio Silver Stars. The longtime San Antonio Spurs assistant averaged 13.0 points per game, 2.5 rebounds and 3.8 assists. She shot 43.8 percent from the floor and 37.8 percent from the three-point range. Hammon never won a title but was a six-time WNBA All-Star.

Milton-Jones played 18 WNBA seasons with the Los Angeles Sparks, Atlanta Dream and the Washington Mystics. The two-time WNBA All-Star won two titles with the Sparks in 2001 and 2002 and two Olympic gold medals in Sydney in 2004 and Beijing in 2008. She averaged 11.2 points, 5.2 rebounds and 1.8 assists while shooting 44.0 percent from the floor and 32.5 percent from three.

Taylor played 13 seasons in the WNBA with the Phoenix Mercury and Cleveland Rockers, winning three titles with the Mercury in 2007, 2009 and 2014. The three-time All-Star averaged 13.0 points, 4.4 rebounds and 3.0 assists while shooting 46.6 percent from the field and 38.2 percent from three.

Bruno is the current head coach at DePaul and holds a 731-357 regular-season record in his 34 years at the school and a 17-24 tournament record. Bruno has won five Big East Tournament championships, most recently in 2020, and six Big Ten East Regular season titles, most recently in 2020. He also won two C-USA titles with the school and C-USA Coach of the Year in 2005. In addition, Bruno earned two Olympic gold medals as an assistant coach in London in 2012 and Rio in 2016. DePaul is 20-7 so far this season.

Sanderford led Western Kentucky to three NCAA Final Four appearances in 1985, 1986 and 1992. Sanderford coached 15 seasons at Western Kentucky and had 365 victories. He also served as head coach at Nebraska and compiled a 453-189 record over his career as a head coach. 

Schneider coached for 43 years, with 25 of those seasons coming at Division II West Texas A&M and winning five state championships at Canyon High School, compiling a 1,045-293 record over his entire career.

Antonelli played college basketball at NC State and won two Emmys as a television analyst.

Barron played for the Wayland Baptist Flying Queens and won three national championships. The Flying Queens went undefeated from 1954 to 1957 with a 104-0 record.

The eight inductees will be entered into the Hall of Fame ceremony on June 11 in Knoxville, TN.

Written by Gabriela Carroll

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.