September 15, 2022 

Breanna Stewart, A’ja Wilson headline All-WNBA team

Second team includes Ogwumike, Fowles

A’ja Wilson of the Las Vegas Aces and Breanna Stewart of the Seattle Storm, the top two finishers, respectively, in the 2022 WNBA MVP race, unsurprisingly led the voting and were named to the all-WNBA first team, the league announced Thursday evening.

Continue reading with a subscription to The Next

Get unlimited access to women’s basketball coverage and help support our hardworking staff of writers, editors, and photographers by subscribing today.

Join today

Wilson and Stewart finished deadlocked with 280 points apiece in the voting, each garnering a unanimous first-team placement on all 56 ballots. (A first-team vote is worth five points, a second-team vote three points in the tabulations.) For Wilson, it is the third straight season with this honor. Stewart has now earned first-team accolades four times.

Wilson earns the honor on the cusp of her attempt to win something even more important to her — her first WNBA title. Her Aces lead the Connecticut Sun, 2-0, in a best-of-five series, with Game 3 Thursday night at 9 PM ET in Connecticut.

They were joined on that all-WNBA first team by Kelsey Plum (50 first-team votes, 265 total points), Skylar Diggins-Smith of the Phoenix Mercury (21 first-team votes, 183 total points) and the Chicago Sky’s Candace Parker (24 first-team votes, 183 total points).

Alyssa Thomas of the Connecticut Sun (20 first-team votes, 175 total points) led the way on the all-WNBA second team, along with Sabrina Ionescu of the New York Liberty (15 first-team votes, 168 total points), Los Angeles Sparks big Nneka Ogwumike (9 first-team votes, 141 total points), Connecticut’s Jonquel Jones (12 first-team votes, 126 total points) and Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles (1 first-team vote, 65 total points).

The Next, a 24/7/365 women’s basketball newsroom

The Next: A basketball newsroom brought to you by The IX. 24/7/365 women’s basketball coverage, written, edited and photographed by our young, diverse staff and dedicated to breaking news, analysis, historical deep dives and projections about the game we love.

Written by Howard Megdal

Howard is the founder of The Next and editor-in-chief.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.