October 20, 2022 

Locked on Women’s Basketball: The NCAA season is near! What did we learn from Atlantic 10 media day?

Natalie Heavren talks all things A-10 media day including preseason poll and awards

It’s time for another episode of the Locked on Women’s Basketball podcast. This episode features Atlantic 10 beat reporter Natalie Heavren talking all things A-10 Media Day, including what the commissioner of the A-10, Bernadette V. McGlade, said, the preseason poll and preseason awards.

Continue reading with a subscription to The Next

Get unlimited access to women’s basketball coverage and help support our hardworking staff of writers, editors, and photographers by subscribing today.

Join today

Natalie talks about what commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade said on media day:

“One thing that McGlade talked about that was really interesting was how important non-conferences and the conferences push to continue to get teams in as at large contenders. Last year, Dayton was an at large bid into the NCAA tournament and UMass won the A-10 championship and was an automatic qualifier.

She said we’re certainly looking forward to our non-conference schedule. Obviously, we have a commitment within the league to schedule robustly. We want to be able to play some of the best teams in the country, obviously, non-conference is the opportunity to position ourselves for NCAA postseason play and for WNIT postseason play. So our teams have really committed to elevating their non-conference opponents.”

The Next, a 24/7/365 women’s basketball newsroom

The Next: A basketball newsroom brought to you by The IX. 24/7/365 women’s basketball coverage, written, edited and photographed by our young, diverse staff and dedicated to breaking news, analysis, historical deep dives and projections about the game we love.

Natalie talks about the Atlantic 10 preseason poll and awards:

“The preseason poll starts off with UMass as the unanimous first-place team and then running out the top five: LaSalle, Rhode Island, Fordham and VCU. In the middle are Saint Joseph’s, Davidson, Richmond, Duquesne and Dayton and then at the bottom are George Washington, St. Louis, Loyola Chicago, George Mason and St. Bonaventure.

Moving on to the preseason awards: Sam Breen, last year’s Player of the Year and A-10 tournament most outstanding Player was joined on the preseason first team by Anna DeWolfe [Fordham ] Kayla Spruill of [LaSalle] Breen’s teammate Sydney Taylor at [UMass] Addie Budnik from [Richmond] and Sarah Te-Biasu at VCU.”

Add Locked On Women’s Basketball to your daily routine

Here at The Next, in addition to the 24/7/365 written content our staff provides, we also host the daily Locked On Women’s Basketball podcast. Join us Monday through Saturday each week as we discuss all things WNBA, collegiate basketball, basketball history and much more. Listen wherever you find podcasts or watch on YouTube.

Make sure to subscribe to Locked on Women’s Basketball, where we have new shows every weekday.

For more coverage of the NCAAW, click here.

Written by The Next

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.