November 9, 2020 

Patriot League releases schedule, changes to the conference

The Council of Presidents for the Patriot League revealed its plan for the 2020-2021 conference play, beginning January 2nd

Welcome to The Next: A basketball newsroom brought to you by The IX. 24/7/365 women’s basketball coverage, written, edited, and photographed by our young, diverse staff, dedicated to breaking news, analysis, historical deep dives, and projections about the game we love.

Continue reading with a subscription to The Next

Get unlimited access to women’s basketball coverage and help support our hardworking staff of writers, editors, and photographers by subscribing today.

Join today

Subscribe to make sure this vital work, creating a pipeline of young, diverse media professionals to write, edit and photograph the great game, continues, and grows. Paid subscriptions include some exclusive content, but the reason for subscriptions is a simple one: making sure our writers and editors creating 24/7/365 women’s basketball coverage get paid to do it.

Photo Credit: Colgate University

The Council of Presidents for the Patriot League revealed its plan for 2020-21 conference play, beginning January 2. The format includes alignment changes to the league and a 16-game regular-season schedule.

“We have accomplished the first step in the planning process for the 2021 Patriot League men’s and women’s basketball season,” said Lafayette College President Alison Byerly, Chair of the Council of Presidents in a press release. “The Council of Presidents places the highest value and priority on League competition and we believe this model offers the best opportunities for us to conduct a safe and successful League season.”

To limit travel and overnight visits, the Council has divided the league into three regional parts with teams playing four games against each opponent in its division. Instead of the traditional home and away match-ups versus each league program, teams will play more games against league squads that are closer geographically for health and safety reasons.

The divisional breakdown:

NORTH: Army, Boston University, Colgate, Holy Cross

CENTRAL: Bucknell, Lafayette, Lehigh

SOUTH: American, Loyola (MD), Navy

Schools will compete against a single opponent each weekend, playing back-to-back on Saturday and Sundays. The full season schedule can be found here.

Each divisional school will have its schedule supplemented with match-ups against league teams outside their division to achieve a 16-game conference season. To balance the schedule, divisional teams playing each other head-to-head more than four times will have those additional games designated as non-divisional games.

In the 10-team league, some schools will face just four teams and others as many as six in the regular season. There will be no non-conference play for any member institution except for Army and Navy. The league release explains: “Because Army and Navy are unique in their environments and their missions within higher education, their pursuit of non-League competition, as considered appropriate by their respective Superintendents, is permitted.”

The Patriot League also announced its dates for an eight-team championship tournament but did not detail the format for how teams will qualify for the playoffs. The championship game is set for March 14th.

Written by Todd Goclowski

Todd Goclowski currently covers the Patriot League for The Next. Goclowski brings 25 years of coaching experience to his role as an analyst and writer, including 19 years of coaching women's basketball in the NCAA at the D1 and D3 levels.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.