May 10, 2021 

USC hires Lindsay Gottlieb as head coach

Successful Cal coach and Cavaliers assistant takes over at storied program

Welcome to The Next: A basketball newsroom brought to you by The IX. 24/7/365 women’s basketball coverage, written, edited, and photographed by our young, diverse staff, dedicated to breaking news, analysis, historical deep dives, and projections about the game we love.

Continue reading with a subscription to The Next

Get unlimited access to women’s basketball coverage and help support our hardworking staff of writers, editors, and photographers by subscribing today. Join today

Subscribe to make sure this vital work, creating a pipeline of young, diverse media professionals to write, edit and photograph the great game, continues and grows. Paid subscriptions include some exclusive content, but the reason for subscriptions is a simple one: making sure our writers and editors creating 24/7/365 women’s basketball coverage get paid to do it.

The USC Trojans have hired Cleveland Cavaliers assistant Lindsay Gottlieb to be their next head coach.

Gottlieb, who was the coach of the California Golden Bears for eight seasons, has signed a six-year deal. She was the first NCAA coach ever recruited by an NBA team.

Gottlieb led Cal to seven NCAA Tournaments and 2013 Final Four. Before getting hired in 2011, she was the head coach at UC Santa Barbara and before that, she had assistant coaching stints at Cal, Richmond, UNH and in her home state at Syracuse. She played at Brown from 1995 to 1999.

USC won back-to-back national championships in 1983 and 1984 and boasts famous women’s basketball alumni in Cheryl Miller, Lisa Leslie, Tina Thompson and Cynthia Cooper.

Miller coached the Phoenix Mercury from 1997 to 2000, Leslie is a three-time WNBA MVP and two-time champion, Thompson (the first No. 1 pick in league history) is a nine-time All-Star and four-time champ and Cooper is a two-time MVP and four-time champ.

Gottlieb has the opportunity to return USC to glory. The Trojans haven’t been to the NCAA Tournament since 2014 when they were Pac-12 champions.

Written by Zack Ward

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.