July 1, 2023 

WNBA reveals All-Star Game reserves

Five-time All-Stars DeWanna Bonner and Courtney Vandersloot highlight list

The WNBA revealed on Saturday the reserves selected to participate in the league’s 2023 All-Star Game, which is scheduled for July 15 (8:30 p.m. ET) on ABC. The 12 players revealed as reserves during ABC’s WNBA Countdown were selected by WNBA head coaches, who voted for three guards, five frontcourt players and four players at either position regardless of conference. The starters for the WNBA All-Star Game were announced last Sunday.

Continue reading with a subscription to The Next

Get unlimited access to women’s basketball coverage and help support our hardworking staff of writers, editors, and photographers by subscribing today.

Join today

Frontcourt reserves include Connecticut Sun teammates and power couple Alyssa Thomas and DeWanna Bonner, Washington Mystic Elena Delle Donne, Minnesota Lynx captain Napheesa Collier, the Seattle Storm’s Ezi Magbegor and Atlanta Dream forward Cheyenne Parker.

Reserves at the guard position are the Chicago Sky’s Kahleah Copper, Atlanta Dream guard Allisha Gray, Liberty guards Sabrina Ionescu and Courtney Vandersloot, the Indiana Fever’s Kelsey Mitchell and Las Vegas Aces sharpshooter Kelsey Plum.

With a selection into the All-Star Game, both DeWanna Bonner and Courtney Vandersloot clinch their fifth All-Star selection. Bonner averages 17.6 points per game and, on June 8, the 35-year-old netted a career-high and Sun record 41 points against the Las Vegas Aces. Vandersloot, one of the league’s top point guards, leads the league with 8.4 assists per game this season.

Alyssa Thomas, who recently became the WNBA’s career triple-doubles leader for the regular season (five) and for the regular season and playoffs combined (seven), has been dominant of late. Each of Thomas’ triple-doubles have come since last season’s All-Star game. Many fans feel that Thomas not being named a starter was a major snub.

First-time All-Stars selected as reserves include Allisha Gray, Ezi Magbegor, Kelsey Mitchell and Cheyenne Parker. Las Vegas Aces coach Becky Hammon and Connecticut Sun first-year coach Stephanie White will serve as head coaches for the All-Star Game. All-Star game captains A’ja Wilson and Breanna Stewart will select their respective teams during ESPN’s broadcast of the WNBA All-Star Team Selection Special on July 8 (1 p.m. ET).

Written by The Next

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.